top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegemdandyjrt

A Chance Encounter

I was at the grocery store recently dressed in my usual uniform of Jack Russell Terrier tee-shirt, shorts and flip flops.  While browsing the produce section a women stopped me and said, “Cute shirt, I have a Jack Russell too”.   She went on to tell me that he was 14 years old and was having some issues as most older dogs do.  She told me that they had gotten him as a four week old puppy because his mother had been killed.  They had not intended to keep a puppy, only foster him for a friend until he was old enough to find a home.  


At that time, their 3 year old daughter was having seizures and they were afraid to have a dog around her.  To their amazement, as the pup grew he become more attached to their daughter and she to him so the pup stayed as the right home just didn’t seem to come along.  When he was about 4 months old, he started alerting when she was going to have a seizure by running around her and licking her face.  Since that time he has been her constant companion and service dog.

 

As she was telling me the story of this remarkable little dog, her eyes got misty, and she confided to me how she was worried about what her daughter would do when he was gone.  Then with a smile, she said he can still jump up on her big bed and chases the cat up the stairs, “oh he’s still very much a Jack Russell, and we don’t tell him he’s old”. 


I didn’t get her name, and may never see her again.  But I know the good Lord sent this little white dog to her family just as he’s sent these remarkable little hellions to others of us when we have needed them most.  I pray He has another in mind for her.

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My 11 JRT puppies have all left for their forever homes

My 11 JRT puppies have all left for their forever homes and my home feels like someone sucked the air right out of it. Having two large litters at the same time is not for the faint of heart. Puppy pe

Why Puppy Culture?

It’s early morning and still very dark outside. I am sitting here drinking my morning brew with Darby, Teagan and Pedey all snuggled on and around my lap. I can feel puppies moving as Darby is drape

The Man, The Legend!

I just finished ready Bob Clough’s book, Back to Earth Jack Russell Terriers. For those of you who didn’t know Bob Clough, he was a Terrier Man, respected Breeder and JRTCA Judge from the UK. I didn’t

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page