top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegemdandyjrt

The Man, The Legend!

I just finished ready Bob Clough’s book, Back to Earth Jack Russell Terriers.

For those of you who didn’t know Bob Clough, he was a Terrier Man, respected Breeder and JRTCA Judge from the UK. I didn’t have the pleasure of meeting Bob, but his sense of humor was legendary. My good friend Lynn Hawley of Forget-Me-Not JRT’s, once told me that years ago she was working Hospitality at the Rainier Hunt Classic where Bob was judging the conformation classes. This was her first encounter with him and she offered Bob some bottled water to drink. He looked at her and in a stern voice said, “No! Fish fuck in it”. She was taken aback. Seeing her reaction, he just roared with laughter at her shock. After reading his last book I feel like I got to know him and can completely see him saying this. I know I would have enjoyed his company.


Lynn, his lovely wife was judging at the Rainier Hunt Classic a couple of years ago. She had put Pedey up as Open Terrier Champion and had commented to me about what a nice dog he was. After the day’s activities were done, I approached Lynn and introduced myself and thanked her for her kind words, explaining that Pedey was my constant companion and my heart dog. We chatted a few minutes and she asked how Pedey was bred. I showed her a copy of his pedigree and she studied it for a couple of minutes. A smile spread across her face. She said, “seeing your dog today and now seeing his pedigree, has warmed my heart”. She proceeded to point out all the dogs that she and Bob had owned and bred that showed up in Pedey’s pedigree. At that time, many of the Kennel names found there (Pengelli, Jones, Meynell, Bicester, Fox Island and Fox Run) were foreign to me. After my encounter with Lynn, I was even more intrigued and sought out everything I could. In my quest to learn all that I can about these wonderful little with terriers, I came across Bob’s books. I thoroughly enjoyed reading his accounts of hunting and why he selected a particular cross to develop their Pengelli lines. Not only is this book an interesting historical recount of their beloved terriers, it was a poignant account of the health challenges he faced so bravely.


As I read, I was struck by what a small world we have within the Jack Russell Terrier community. I am thankful to those that helped to bring Bob’s last book to publication. He and Lynn’s contribution to the breed is priceless and can only be repaid by carrying on their tradition of breeding the finest dogs we can. Dogs of sound minds and correct conformation. Dogs bred with a purpose, be that hunting, performance, or simply bringing joy to those of us fortunate enough to have one.

His book is available on Amazon, and I highly recommend it. Enjoy!

145 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My 11 JRT puppies have all left for their forever homes

My 11 JRT puppies have all left for their forever homes and my home feels like someone sucked the air right out of it. Having two large litters at the same time is not for the faint of heart. Puppy pe

Why Puppy Culture?

It’s early morning and still very dark outside. I am sitting here drinking my morning brew with Darby, Teagan and Pedey all snuggled on and around my lap. I can feel puppies moving as Darby is drape

Nutria Hunting - My First Experience

My First Hunting Adventure I am exhausted and overwhelmed with pride and joy. After having a had a great trial at the Rainier Hunt Classic we packed up and drove down to Albany Oregon getting in arou

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page